Monsters In the Closet – Among the Sleep Free Alpha

It might be fair to say that I’m a bit of  a coward. I have an irrational fear of spiders bigger than a penny. I’m not great with heights, or crowds of strangers.

I’m also not particularly fond of  scary games. Especially those that like to employ jump-scares to achieve their thrills. I booted up the demo for Amnesia: The Dark Descent once. Ten minutes later, I quietly closed the programme, curled up in a ball and cried myself to sleep. In a manly way, of course.

I could barely even play Dead Space in the company of friends, with all the armour and engineering equipment that it gave you to combat the ghoulies. Now, indie horror Among the Sleep has released a free, playable alpha for you all to enjoy, casting you as a veteran Ghostbuster!

Wait, no, I read that wrong – you’re actually a toddler.

Prepare to need a nappy change after the jump…

If that video doesn’t have you immediately checking under your bed with a torch, then this might just be a game for you. As far as the gameplay goes, Among the Sleep seems to do a fairly decent job of nailing the movement of a toddler, which should make running away from the baddies even more tense. It also looks creepy as all get-out.

The free alpha is available here, at the developer’s Kickstarter page. I’ll be giving it a go when I get back from work, and assuming I don’t get reduced to a pile of blubbering incoherence, I’ll update here with my opinions.

Until then, if anyone else wants to check it out first and give me a heads-up about how much underwear I should stock up on, I would be very appreciative.

Sleep tight!

UPDATE 1 – AHHHHHHHHHHH! Nope. Do not want. AHHHHHHHH oh wait it’s just a toy elephant. Controls are very similar to Amnesia.

UPDATE 2- I love that the animation to get to the pause menu is to cover your eyes with your hands. Also, AHHHHHH!

UPDATE 3 – Hugging your teddy acts as a light source, which is nice. I’ve never been more terrified by a washing machine…

Instead of me just listing updates, you can watch it yourselves here.

OK then – atmosphere and the like are fantastic, but this is definitely not a game for me. For all you fear-junkies out there though, give this one a look!


What Are Your Thoughts?

